....................
Little bits of life
Little bits of life
Little bits of life
....................

Entries
2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006

Links
Movies - PostSecret - Theresa - IreneQ - Robin - Galvin - Lucian - nickpan - pearlpan - cliepan - cleopan - Jakob - mf - MoodySunRay - Ashng - jeffery - rendezvous - Sunnie - Rainia - Perky butt - DW - totenkopf - Raymond - Ecstasy - Kruder - Epicurious -


He who has the most toys wins

Sunday, Sept. 21, 2008
10:00 P.M.

What do people at your age talk about now? A few years ago, people my age are racing to be one of the fastest among our peers to climb up the corporate ladder, having new cars, doting (rich) boyfriends, country club memberships, being in the most �happening� social circles & events�this & that. Now? They�re talking about divorce, emptiness, wanting to leave the little red dot, this and that.

Sometimes I wonder, do we own the stuff or the stuff owns us?

Though relatives & family on my side disapproved of my freelancing status, I�m glad to have the support of Alvin & fellow like-minded friends. If my focus in life is to climb the corporate ladder, I wouldn�t have resigned from my job 2 yrs ago. Contrary to what the world says, I don�t have to �have it all� in life. That doesn�t mean I totally slack off & don�t work, living off parents or Alvin. I just want to have a job that doesn�t suck the energy out of me or turned me into something that repels me whenever I look into the mirror, just so that I can better survive in the rat race.

Needs and Wants. That�s how I look at things.

It�s kinda sad that even with my kind of simplistic thinking, I still fell from the sky. A series of unfortunate events & very bad people happened in my life. People who carried me along with their idealistic dreams & desires. Why did I follow them when I don�t even share their beliefs in the 1st place? I know, it�s all in the past but sometimes the past has a way of reminding me of how easily I got myself lost. I look at the pictures in their facebook, the blogs, the msn conversations exchanged, it all just brings it back right into my face.

The vicious cycle goes on.

(3) Comments so far


3 ways to long life

Friday, Sept. 19, 2008
11:59 P.M.

Read that the oldest man in the world is a 113 yrs old Japanese. So I did a search on Why Do Japanese Live So Long?

Here's what I found:

--------------------------------------

There are three staples of the Japanese diet which can be linked to their long healthy lives.

1. Fish - Seafood is a well known staple of the Japanese diet. It is also a well known fact that seafood is very healthy. The average Japanese diet includes at least one piece of seafood every day. Seafood is naturally low in fat and cholesterol, high in protein and omega 3 fatty acids. It is arguably one of the healthiest meats available today.

2. Rice - The most well known food in Japan has to be rice. It is eaten every day often multiple times a day in Japan. Whether by itself as a meal or in a multitude of other dishes, rice is the foundation of Japanese food. Rice itself is low in fat, a great source of energy, filling, and nutritious. Japan has perfected rice growing and cooking. I have never met a Japanese person who did not own a rice cooker. In Japan there have even been developed vitamin infused rice, or hybrid rice's. These provide even more nutrition than normal white rice.

3. Green tea - The beverage of tea has existed in Japan for a very long time. Japanese green tea, similar to rice and fish, is consumed every day by most Japanese. It is often consumed with most meals, given as gifts, and used in the most important of ceremonies. Green tea is high in vitamins such as C and E, high in dietary fiber, it helps lower cholesterol, and raises your metabolism. Green tea is perhaps the most convenient and least expensive way to live a longer healthier life.

--------------------------------------

Recently, I've been cutting down on sodas, opting for plain water instead & been trying to include fish in every meal with more vegetables. Though I'll like to lose weight, I decide that I wanna take a break from that goal & instead focus on maintaining my current weight. Seems to be working as I'm less stressed/depressed & is taking a more active positive attitude on what I'm putting in my mouth. Darling seems to be lazier though, I'm not worried abt him losing weight but more worried about him putting on more.

It's not for vanity's sake but rather for health reasons. You aren't so concerned abt your health when younger but as you get older, you feel the age. Let's be practical. Not everyone gets the blessed death wish of having an instant death. Many often linger on for years in sickness before death comes as a relief.

So dear, pls take care of yourself, ok?

(1) Comments so far


little piece of heaven

Thursday, Sept. 18, 2008
9:09 P.M.

Haven't been doing this for a long time. Sitting alone is a cafe, reading. I used to do this alot as a single. Today, after I met Alvin for lunch, I settled down to a cafe & took out my new bible to read. Kinda like this old familiar feeling. The sense of peace & quietness in the midst of all the noise & people.

Been playing with some children art too.

I quite enjoy putting together the tiny pieces of wood into miniature furniture. Alvin's niece is having her 8th birthday next month. I guess I know what I'll be getting for her.

(0) Comments so far


ice-skate honeymoon time

Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2008
10:08 A.M.

Backblogging a bit. Though we didn't go for any honeymoon straight after our ROM, we took the next day off & declared that day as our day & went ice-skating. I was quite clumsy in skating but Alvin seems to fare much better than I am.

Was reading my ex-dance partner's blog & I realised that I don't really miss people from the dance world very much. What I really miss are the friends I used to hang around with so much in church,those simple & fun times. All these ties were broken when I got pulled into the dance world. I really wish I can get back to that kind of life again but I don't think it's possible. Been out of their lives & circle for so long that I dun know where to insert myself back in again. Can't help feeling resentment at my mother. Can't help it. History has proved time & again that children often treat their kids the same way their parents do to them. I certainly hoped that years of being in the education world will help me break such chain.

3 yrs ago, I was so depressed that I threw out my bible. Now, I'm much better & gonna go to the bookshop to get a devotional bible to myself. Definately need some stuff to aid me in self-reflections of day-to-day events. You never know what insight you may gleam from that beam of light shining from the sky. Though I may have lost some things during those years, I'm still gonna try get some resemblance of that life back again.

I'm beginning the process with my inner life.

(0) Comments so far


2nd mooncake festival celebration

Sunday, Sept. 14, 2008
11:22 P.M.

This yr's celebration is abt the same as last yr, eating mooncakes, watching the kids playing. Only difference this yr is that we brought our lantern & some sparklers to play with. I think for nxt yr, we should include Alvin's niece & nephew. Such celebrations are a good time to build some family ties. I'm glad Alvin took leave for today. No matter how bright & lovely the moon is, it wouldn't feel the same without his presence.

Uploaded some videos featuring yours truly. ^^ ENJOY!


(0) Comments so far


happily married

Wednesday, Sept. 10, 2008
12:45 A.M.

Painted our toes gold!

Is it my imagination or that being lawfully married really changes things? I�m happier, that�s for sure. Looking back at our almost 2 yrs together, I can see a lot of changes in Alvin. He�s really growing up to be a man that I can look up to, confide in & play with. Though the decision to marry & the process of it all was hastily done, what really matters to me is that I�m finally his wife & moving out of courtship into something deeper.

Both of us have officially stepped away from online gaming, moving away from all that politics that we see in real life & again in the game. I must say that it takes some adjusting to but I�m sure I�ll get used to all that extra time on my hands. Well, I�m still glad to have made some Taiwanese friends whom I still chat with in msn. It�s pretty interesting to be hearing Taiwanese mandarin being spoken. Singaporean�s mandarin must have sound a lot like a cross between Hong Kong & Taiwan to them.

Alvin�s on night shift again.
>.<

(0) Comments so far

host

Under construction  Under construction
  <area shape= email archive newest